

Arlene Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. SU2C Scientific Advisory Committee



Arlene Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. Harvard Medical School Member, Stand Up To Cancer Scientific Advisory Committee Boston, MA

Arlene Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D. is the Kolokotrones University Professor at Harvard University and Chair of the Department of Immunology at Harvard Medical School. She is a member of the Department of Pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, a Member at the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Leader of the Cancer Immunology Program at the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, and Vice Director of the Gene Lay Institute of Immunology and Inflammation at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, and Harvard Medical School.

Sharpe earned her BA from Harvard University and her M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Harvard Medical School. She completed residency training in Pathology at Brigham and Women's Hospital and is board certified in Anatomic Pathology.

Sharpe is a leader in the field of T cell costimulation. Her laboratory has discovered and elucidated the functions of T cell costimulatory and coinhibitory pathways, including the immunoinhibitory functions of the CTLA-4 and PD-1 pathways, that laid groundwork for immune checkpoint blockade. Her laboratory currently focuses on the roles of T cell costimulatory pathways in regulating T cell tolerance and effective antimicrobial and antitumor immunity and translating fundamental understanding of T cell costimulation into new therapies for autoimmune diseases and cancer. Sharpe has published over 300 papers and was listed by Thomas Reuters as one of the most Highly Cited Researchers (top 1%) in 2014-2023 and a 2016 Citation Laureate. She received the William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Tumor immunology in 2014, the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize in 2017, the SITC Smalley Award in 2020, and the Switzer Prize in 2023 for her contributions to the discovery of PD-1 pathway. In 2022, she received the FASEB Excellence in Science Lifetime Achievement Award, the AAI Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Rous-Whipple Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology. Dr. Sharpe is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Medicine and a Fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research, National Academy of Inventors, the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer and the American Association of Immunologists.