

## Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D. SU2C Scientific Advisory Committee

Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D.
UT Southwestern Harold C. Simmons
Comprehensive Cancer Center
Member, Stand Up To Cancer Scientific Advisory Committee
Dallas, TX

**Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D.** is the Director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center and Associate Dean of Oncology Programs at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Arteaga earned his medical degree at the University of Guayaquil in Ecuador. He trained in internal medicine and medical oncology at Emory University and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, respectively. He joined Vanderbilt University Medical Center in 1989, where he held the Donna S. Hall Chair in Breast Cancer Research and served at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (VICC) as Director of the Center for Cancer Targeted Therapies, the Director of the Breast Cancer Program, and the Associate Director for Translational/Clinical Research until 2017, when he joined UT Southwestern.

Arteaga has more than 350 publications in the areas of oncogenes and breast tumor initiation and progression, development of targeted therapies and biomarkers of drug action and resistance, and investigator-initiated clinical trials in breast cancer. His research is or has been funded by the National Cancer Institute (NCI), CPRIT, the American Cancer Society, the Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program, Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C), and the Susan G. Komen for the Cure and the Breast Cancer Research foundations.

During his career, Arteaga has received several awards, including the American Association for Cancer Research Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award, the American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor Award, the Gianni Bonadonna Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction from the Susan G. Komen Foundation, the 2015 Prize for Scientific Excellence in Medicine from the American-Italian Cancer Foundation, and the Clinical Investigator Award from the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs.

He is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research Academy, an elected member of both the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, and member of the Susan G. Komen Scientific Advisory Board. He is member of the external advisory board of eight NCI-designated Cancer Centers. He served as the 2014-2015 President of the American Association for Cancer Research, the largest cancer research organization in the world.